ओळख विद्यापीठाची About VNMKV

मराठवाडा विभागातील कृषि क्षेत्राच्‍या विशेष गरजा व लोकभावना लक्षात घेवून परभणी येथे १८ मे १९७२ रोजी मराठवाडा कृषि विद्यापीठाची स्‍थापना करण्‍यात आली. हरित क्रांतीचे प्रणेते स्‍व. वसंतराव नाईक यांच्‍या जन्‍मशताब्‍दी वर्षानिमित्‍य त्‍यांच्‍या राज्‍यातील कृषि क्षेत्रातील अतुलनीय योगदानाबद्दल १ जुलै २०१३ रोजी विद्यापीठाच्‍या नामविस्‍तार वसंतराव नाईक मराठवाडा कृषि विद्यापीठ असा करण्‍यात आला आहे.

शिक्षण – १९५६ साली परभणी येथे कृषि महाविद्यालयाच्‍या स्‍थापनेने सुरवात होऊन आज विद्यापीठांतर्गत १२ घटक व ४ संलग्‍न महाविद्यालये आहेत. तसेच ९ घटक व २० कृषि तंत्र विद्यालये,  संलग्‍न कृषि तंत्र निकेतने आहेत. याद्वारे विद्यार्थ्‍यांना कृषि विषयक शिक्षण देण्‍यात येते. विद्यापीठामध्‍ये कृषि, उद्यानविद्या, कृषि व्‍यवसाय व्‍यवस्‍थापन, कृषि अभियांत्रीकी, गृहविज्ञान, अन्‍नतंत्रज्ञान यात दोन वर्षाचा पदव्‍युत्‍तर तर आचार्य पदवी कार्यक्रम कृषि शाखेच्‍या नऊ विषयात, अन्‍नतंत्रज्ञान शाखेत पाच विषय, कृषि अभियांत्रिकी शाखेतील चार विषयात व गृह विज्ञान शाखेत एका विषयात राबविण्‍यात येतो.

संशोधन – विद्यापीठात राज्‍य शासन अनुदानीत ३४ संशोधन योजना, २४ अखिल भारतीय समन्‍वयक संशोधन प्रकल्‍प कार्यरत असुन आजपर्यंत सव्‍वाशेपेक्षा जास्‍त्‍ा विविध पिकांचे वाण, पंचवीस पेक्षा जास्‍त कृषि औजारे व यंत्रे विकसीत करुन सहाशेपेक्षा जास्‍त तंत्रज्ञान शिफारसी शेतक-यांसाठी प्रसारीत केल्‍या आहेत.

विस्‍तार शिक्षण - विद्यापीठाचे तंत्रज्ञान शेतकयांपर्यंत पोहोचण्‍याचे कार्य विस्‍तार शिक्षण गट (१) , कृषि तंत्रज्ञान माहिती केंद्र (), विभागीय कृषि विस्‍तार केंद्र () तसेच   घटक व ८ अशासकीय कृषि विज्ञान केंद्राद्वारे केल्‍या जाते. विद्यापीठाचे तंत्रज्ञान शेतक-यांच्‍या शेतापर्यंत जलदगतीने व प्रभावीपणे पोहोचण्‍यासाठी तसेच शेतक-यांमध्‍ये नव चैतन्‍य निर्माण करण्‍यासाठी विद्यापीठ आपल्‍या दारी तंत्रज्ञान शेतावरी हा नाविन्‍यपुर्ण असा विस्‍तार शिक्षण उपक्रम गेल्‍या तीन वर्षापासुन राबविण्‍यात येत आहे.

दरवर्षी १८ मे रोजी खरीप पीक मेळावा (विद्यापीठ वर्धापनदिन), १७ सप्‍टेंबर रोजी रबी पिक मेळावा (मराठवाडा मुक्‍ती संग्राम दिन)  घेण्‍यात येवून शेतक-यांना खरीप व रबी हंगामाबाबत मार्गदर्शन करण्‍यात येते व विद्यापीठाने तयार केलेल्‍या बियाणाचे वाटप केले जाते. क्रांती ज्‍योती सावित्रीबाई फुले जयंती निमित्‍त ३ जानेवारी रोजी महिला शेतकरी मेळावा दरवर्षी आयोजीत केला जातो. याचा लाभ राज्‍यातील लाखो शेतकरी बांधव घेतात. विद्यापीठाद्वारे दरवर्षी कृषि दैनंदिनी, कृषि दिनदर्शिका, विविध विषयावरील पुस्‍तीका, घडीपत्रीका, शेती भाती मासीक याचे प्रकाशन करण्‍यात येते.


     Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth (An Agricultural University) was established on 18th May, 1972 with its head-quarter at Parbhani. On the occasion of Birth Centenary of Hon’ble Late Vasantrao Naik on 1st July 2013, the University was renamed ‘Vasantrao Naik Marathwada Krishi Vidyapeeth’ to pay homage to work done by him for the agricultural development in the State. He was Father of Green Revolution in the State.

    The mandate of the University is to impart quality education in different branches of agriculture and allied sciences for advancement of learning, to conduct need based and innovative research and to undertake extension education programmes for overall development of students and farmers and their families of this region and the state in general. 

   The Jurisdiction of the University is spread over the eight districts of Marathwada region of Maharashtra, India viz., Aurangabad, Jalna, Osmanabad, Latur, Parbhani, Hingoli and Nanded. 

   Since inception, VNMKV has released more than 125 varieties / hybrids, more than 25 farm implements and more than 600 research recommendations in Crop Production and Protection Technologies, Natural Resource Management, Animal Husbandry, Social Sciences, Food Technology, Agril. Engineering, Soil & Water Conservation and Home Science. Some of the noteworthy varieties developed and released by VNMKV are Parbhani Kranti in Okra, NHH 44, PA 255 in cotton, PVK 801, PVK 809, SPH 1567 in sorghum, BSMR 853, BSMR 736, BDN 708 & BDN 711 in pigeon pea, MAUS 71, MAUS 81 & MAUS 162 in soybean. Pratishthan, Sweet Tamarind (Ajanta) in tamarind, LSFH 35 in sunflower and Prabhavati, Parag & Avishkar in upland rice.  VNMKV is the first university in the country which evolved scented variety of rice i.e. Parag having characteristic of Basmati through biotechnological tool.

Education - The University has made significant progress in quality higher education, research and extension education domains since its inception. The University has expanded from a single College of Agriculture to 12 constituent and 43 affiliated colleges in various agricultural and allied discipline at different locations in this region and has been offering B.Sc.(Agri.), B.Sc. (Hort.), B.Tech (Agri. Engg), B.Tech. (Food Tech), B.Sc. (Hons) Home Science, B.Tech. (Agri. Biotech.) and B.B.A. (Agri.) degree programmes; M.Sc. Programmes in Agriculture, Home Science and Bio-technology; M.Tech. in Agricultural Engineering and Food Technology, Master of Business Administration in Agriculture; Ph.D. programmes in nine disciplines of Agriculture, five subjects in Food Technology, Four subjects in Agril. Engineering and in one discipline of Home Science. In respect of lower agricultural education, the University admits 60 students every year for Agricultural Diploma, which is of 2 years duration. The University has established 9 constituent and 53 affiliated Agril. Technical Schools / Agril. Polytechniques. The University students have maintained high academic achievements and secured prestigious positions in both public and private sectors. Relatively a higher percentage of the students have secured ICAR fellowships. ICAR financed Experiential Learning Programmes (ELPs) are successfully established in the University for enhancing and refining professional competence of the UG students of various disciplines. The VNMKV Students Counseling and Placement Cells & Competitive Exams Forum are proactive and dynamic in preparing and guiding students to become eligible for their befitting jobs. Libraries and JRF, SRF Coaching Centers are strengthened by providing good infrastructure and upgraded learning material.

Research : Generation of need based and location specific technologies is a major mandate of the University. It is executed through the 17 Research Stations, 24 AICRPs in major areas like cotton, sorghum, bajra, rice, pulses, soybean, oilseeds, vegetables, Home science, dryland, water management and cropping systems. The University has collaborative research projects with ICRISAT, Hyderabad; DBT, New Delhi and CICR, Nagpur, Krishidhan Seeds Pvt. Ltd, Jalna and other ICAR institutes.

Extension : The University maintains a good rapport with the farming communities through Extension Education Units, ATIC, Regional Agril. Extension Education Centres, KVKs by frequently conducting trainings, workshops, diagnostic visits, field demonstrations, exhibitions, field days, farmers rallies, kisan call centre, mobile crop dispensary units, mobile soil testing van, SMS and through Child & Family Guidance and Counselling Clinics.  

The University regularly organizes Farmers Rallies on 18th May, On 17th September and on 3rd January every year on eve of University Foundation Day, Marathwada Mukti Sangram Din and Kranti Jyoti Savitribai Phule Birth Anniversary, respectively. The quality seeds and planting material produced by the University received lot of appreciation from the farmers.